NigeriaDecides: Again, Gbajabiamila Wins Surulere, Set For 6th Term as MHR

 NigeriaDecides: Again, Gbajabiamila Wins Surulere, Set For 6th Term as MHR
By Dayo Badmus,

The Speaker of Nigeria’s House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila has been re-elected for the sixth consecutive term in the just concluded 2023 general elections.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Rt Hon Gbajabiamila winner of the election to represent Surulere Federal Constituency I on Sunday, 26 February, 2023.

According to the official result declared by the Returning Officer for the Federal Constituency, Prof. Virgy Onyene at the Surulere Local Government office of the INEC, Femi Gbajabiamila of the APC won with 19,717 votes to defeat his closest rival Bosun Jeje of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 5,121 votes .

The Surulere born lawyer was first elected into the House of Representatives in 2003 and has enjoyed re-election for an unprecedented sixth consecutive terms.

He is the first lawmaker in southwest geopolitical zone to have been elected for such number of terms and one of the longest serving federal lawmakers in the country.

In his 20-year sojourn in the National Assembly, Gbajabiamila has occupied the positions of Minority Whip, Minority Leader -Opposition Leader, Majority Leader and now Nigeria’s Speaker.

He is the first Lagosian to have been elected as Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Read More  Presidency: You’re like bus conductor applying for driving job – Keyamo mocks Atiku


Related post